PDA

View Full Version : what is the best leather treatment for my m1D cheek pads ?

razors edge
11-24-2013, 11:05
I heard pecard was good -any other ideas? Thanks

Johnny P
11-25-2013, 05:22
I have been using Pecards for about 30 years and it has always worked for me. Apply it in thin coats and apply multiple coats.

dave
11-25-2013, 05:43
I started using it 6-7 year ago, have done all my rifle slings and other stuff. Softens and makes dried leather pliable. Will not cure damage (nothing will) but stops it from getting worse. Rifle sling should never be left tight in parade position.

razors edge
11-25-2013, 09:23
Awsome guy's-thank you, I just ordered the classic leather dress..

dave
11-25-2013, 09:33
I suspect it may all be the same but I use the Antique Leather Dressing.

Robert Scott
11-25-2013, 07:59
Should I not use the Neatsfoot Compound I recently purchased and go w/ the Pecards?
There is another recent post about Pecards on Gun Talk. I have a number of nice WWII slings that are due for treatment. I was going to use Saddle soap and the Neatsfoot.

Don't know what to use now....Thanks

Col. Colt
11-25-2013, 10:11
The consensus I hear on most firearms and collectors boards is that the use of saddle soap and neatsfoot oil are relics from a bygone time when we did not know how to care for leather very well - and should be avoided, period. Saddle soap involves water - not good. And neatsfoot just softens the leather, weakening it over time.

I am not a leather expert and claim no expertise myself - but I have read some authoritative collector types who are of this opinion. Please research to your satisfaction before using anything but the Pecards - which generally gets good reviews. Some say Lexol is also harmful. CC

oldtirediron
12-09-2013, 07:07