PDA

View Full Version : Lesson learned...

TDP0311
01-05-2014, 03:27
About a month ago I bought a 12-43 Sedgley USMC barrel off a seller from the CMP forum, and today found out that under the closest of inspections the barrel was bent and re-straightened. I did some digging, and found out this is a problem with the late war Sedgley USMC barrels- I'm fairly new to the 1903 world, and hadn't heard of this before.

Lesson learned... Shame that there are those out there that do this type of thing or pass them off to another after finding out they were had by some fraudulent purchase down the line. For the record, I'm not stating the seller I bought my barrel from is this type, he just as likely could have thought this was a typical spare barrel, as it looked absolutely perfect, a tribute to the original fraud.

Good news is I won't pass the buck, and will eat the loss so another newbie Marine or collector like myself isn't fooled. A word of advice to those who see one for sale- don't pull the trigger on the sale unless you can examine it in person or know the seller personally- these barrels look perfect, but are nothing but aiming stakes!

Dave in NGA
01-05-2014, 05:21
Some people really like the Sedgley barrels. The one and only one I purchased was not a "restraightened" barrel. It was oversized with a .310-.311 barrel diameter. Unless you use 180 grain .308 bullets or heavier it positively won't group worth a hoot. That being the case, I'm not impressed with Sedgley's QC efforts back in the day.

Marine A5 Sniper Rifle
01-05-2014, 08:14
I was lucky. I bought one that proved to be as accurate as I can shoot. I am very happy with it to say the least.

jt

Tom Trevor
01-05-2014, 08:38
Did you contact the seller and request a full refund plus postage? An honest person would take it back at once the other type well______ them.

TDP0311
01-05-2014, 09:15
I sent an email to the seller today, will see if I get a response.

cfn1803
01-06-2014, 04:53