PDA

View Full Version : A couple new-to-me 03 images

Liam
05-16-2015, 06:37
Fort Shafter, HI:

Whole bunch of 03A3s onboard some ship:

Rick the Librarian
05-16-2015, 06:46
The Fort Shafter pictures looks ca. WWI, based on the bright bayonets; look at those RACKS of M1903s in the other picture!! :)

John Beard
05-16-2015, 09:24
The Fort Shafter pictures looks ca. WWI, based on the bright bayonets; look at those RACKS of M1903s in the other picture!! :)

The Fort Shafter rifles have post-WWI straight-profile handguards, and the racks of rifles are M'03-A3's.

Sniffin' the bore cleaner again! :icon_lol:

J.B. :hello:

Dick Hosmer
05-16-2015, 09:33
Could just be me - and I'm no expert on uniforms - but I see a school or similar setting as opposed to "some ship". The guys are awfully young. More than anything else it reminds me of high-school ROTC, except in my case (1952/1955) the rifles would have been M-1s!

Emri
05-18-2015, 05:35
I see a school or similar setting as opposed to "some ship". The guys are awfully young. More than anything else it reminds me of high-school ROTC

That is it exactly. I've never seen a heat radiator on a ship like the one near the floor in that pic. The rack and concrete block wall look just like my ROTC armory in '73, but we had M14's.

Fred
05-18-2015, 06:09
Possibly under a college Stadium like a lot of ROTC arms Rooms.

05-18-2015, 06:45
Lot of 03a3s in those racks for an ROTC program.

Rick the Librarian
05-18-2015, 07:03
The Fort Shafter rifles have post-WWI straight-profile handguards, and the racks of rifles are M'03-A3's.

Sniffin' the bore cleaner again! :icon_lol:

J.B. :hello:

Nag, nag, nag ... :)

Liam
05-18-2015, 08:08
Had to "refind" the pic of 1903A3s. Turns out it is, in fact, Navy bootcamp. See link, scroll approx. halfway down.

http://theleansubmariner.com/2013/03/

Viking Guy
05-18-2015, 09:55