PDA

View Full Version : Found a Remington Rand Today--Need Help!!

Scott Lyons
08-16-2015, 02:39
Hello, I am new to Culver's Shooting Page, but am an avid military collector and absolutely love the forum. I have learned a ton. My father carried a Remington Rand in Korea. I have been looking for a Remington Rand and found one today that is similar to what he carried based on what he told me. The serial number is No 935748. which I believe makes it a 1942 or 43. It has a bomb under the No, has FK under the Y in Property and RIA under the 1911 A1 US ARMY, an L behind the checkered grip, FJA on the other side in front of the grip and a P by the safety, also a P on top of the slide. I didn't tear it down but the barrel looks clean. The guy who has it says the only thing that isn't Remington is the trigger which is a Colt, he assumed it was added when it was rebuilt at Rock Island Arsenal. The slide is very tight on the frame.

Any information or ideas on what an expert on Remington's would pay? I am new to the service pistols so I am in need of a little help!

Thank you for any help you can give a Newbie.

Scott Lyons

Hecklerusp45
08-16-2015, 05:39
First of all, if you don't know about this site you should check it out:
http://www.coolgunsite.com

As far as price goes, what are they asking?

Scott Lyons
08-16-2015, 08:27
$1,600.00

John C
08-17-2015, 03:39
I don't have my book handy but the serial number is early enough to make the correct slide a type 1 or type 2. I'm guessing if it is a type 1 then the 1911 slide stop and early A1 Colt trigger might be correct. The BIG downside is that the pistol has visited an arsenal for inspection and / or possible rebuild - this is the "RIA" stamp on the right side. RIA = Rock Island Arsenal. Just my opinion but for $1,600 you could probably find a virgin type 3 Remington Rand. Lets see what other say............

08-17-2015, 04:16
Arsenal rebuilds usually run about 1000-1200. JMHO.

Wick
08-17-2015, 09:16