PDA

View Full Version : How much does an SRS letter impact value?

artyldr01
11-19-2015, 07:40
Good evening,

I am still learning about the Krag so isn't as versed as I am with other weapons but I know value is a very fluid thing. Assuming all else being equal how much does an SRS letter, identifying a rifle to a unit that saw occupation duty, impact the value? I am looking at an 1898 manufactured rifle, with said letter, in the $1800 range. Is that in the realm of fair to a good deal?

Thank you in advance.

psteinmayer
11-20-2015, 05:05
Depends on many things. If the rifle in question has a sewer pipe for a barrel, and is beat up... or if it has mis-matched parts, then I'd say no. Of course I am far from the expert here, and others more well versed than I can give you a better answer. However, if you could post pictures that detail things like the rear sight and hand guard, receiver with the markings, cartouche, and overall condition of the stock, then people here could give you a much better assessment.

Kragrifle
11-20-2015, 05:29
Depends on how much information is available. If it can be linked to a specific soldier, it then becomes who that soldier was and what he did. A Krag carbine that went up Kettle Hill is beyond my checkbook, but one that was merely in Cuba might be. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

dave
11-20-2015, 06:15
I have a letter for a 96 Carbine. Was with 1st. Cav., 1899, Co. H. They left for Philippines month or so later. Cost 100 for letter, D. Hosmer told me it would add about 200 to value, this was some years back. I now have copies of 1st. Cav. history in Philippines to go with it. I think it compliments the Carbine and at least would make it easier to sell.

Dick Hosmer
11-20-2015, 08:00
Good evening,