PDA

View Full Version : What do you believe?

S.A. Boggs
06-27-2019, 02:47
Have been seriously thinking about changing calibers from .45 ACP to 9MM basically due to cost of shooting. 9 can be hand at give away prices now in most venues. I also watchrd a report on YouTube regarding modern 9vs45 using ballistic gelatin as a reference point. I also saw a person using real world data in regards to hit and down probability...i.e. relative stopping power in the real world.
I have seen/attended people shot with various calibers so I have some first hand knowledge. The gelatin is impressive, so is the cinder block "test" as well. Problem is that none of them is actual living tissue in a live situation. I did some research on why the Army chose the 1911 and the .45acp as the cartridge. The testing was done on live cattle in a stock yard as well as against human corpses. The test would not be done today due to "sensitivity" of modern people so the results are the one's done over 100 years ago. IMHO the .45 with a JHP is still on tops due to one thing for me and that I trust the round to do it's job! What say ye?
Sam

bruce
06-27-2019, 04:56
No experience with anything other than deer and hogs. All were shot under normal field conditions. Some were running. All shot with .30-06 fired from full length USGI rifles ... 03-A3 or M-1 Garand. All but one were one shot. None got up after being shot. None were gut shot, etc. Always immediately reloaded and prepared if needed to make a second shot. The one deer that required more than one shot was my first buck. It was in a swamp. Shot him in the top of the lung. I was inexperienced. Fired two more shots b/c I thought he was going to get up and run. Guess all that practice working the bolt kicked in. All the subsequent shots did was make holes in a dead deer.