PDA

View Full Version : Firing magnum rifles may well cause brain injuries as boxers, football,

SUPERX-M1
03-19-2020, 10:04
and even soccer, has shown.

Autopsy show severe damage to some brains. Apparently, one gunsmith, had brain scan that showed multiple areas of damage similar to concussion damage.

I was just reading about Bob Hagel, a very fine gun writer, who died in 2005-age of 89- who retired from writing due to very severe headaches. Apparently, he ascribed his condition to allergic reaction to plastic fumes from vinyl inside his vehicle, but the very likely possibility is firing magnum rifles for so many years.

I dont know if rifles have caused any detached retinas but do know that if you have detached retina, you had best quit firing heavy recoiling rifles until you heal or perhaps forever.

There may be wrist damage from big bore handguns. Arthritis? And? One person said that a 454 damaged his wrist after not many rounds.

I have no personal knowledge of above and am repeating what i have read.

bruce
03-19-2020, 10:29
Whether from a hard knock to the head playing football, heading a soccer ball, punch from a fist, fall to the ground riding a bicycle or ... heavy recoil to the face/head over a long period of time, force is force, physical trauma is physical trauma. A great deal more is know known about head/brain injury that was the case even back as recently as the 70's - 80's. Extended exposure to cannon/gun fire affects soldiers/shooters, i.e., hearing decline, deafness. No reason at all it would not be the same with hard recoil from a firearm. Sincerely. bruce.

S.A. Boggs
03-19-2020, 10:40
Having to listen to NSD crowd sure gives on a headache. Notice how Biden appears like a punch drunk fighter who won't stay on the canvas?
Sam

Merc
03-19-2020, 03:04
I had a shooter firing an AR next to me at the range in Florida last month. The powder blast and muzzle shock wave was surprisingly severe.

Roadkingtrax
03-19-2020, 03:09