PDA

View Full Version : How Long will Canned Food Really Last

Art
03-10-2022, 06:56
This fellow has a channel where he tries military rations from all over the world. Apparently there is nothing he won't try. As one comment says, the last battle of the Boer War was fought in Steve's stomach.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jZoHuMwZwTk

Boiling it for an hour was probably a good idea.

lyman
03-10-2022, 08:24
that guy does some great vids,

one thing to consider,

dating food is a relatively new idea, as in the past 40 yrs or so,

when I was an apprentice, the lunchmeats etc had a best if used by (not consume by) date, that may have just been a month, and year, depending on the brand,
and a lot would just say good up to 7 days after opening,

most canned food just had a lot number and julian date of when it was canned,

now,, every thing has a date on it,

- - - Updated - - -

that guy does some great vids,

one thing to consider,

dating food is a relatively new idea, as in the past 40 yrs or so,

when I was an apprentice, the lunchmeats etc had a best if used by (not consume by) date, that may have just been a month, and year, depending on the brand,
and a lot would just say good up to 7 days after opening,

most canned food just had a lot number and julian date of when it was canned,

now,, every thing has a date on it,

JimF
03-10-2022, 11:05
?How long will canned food really last? . . . .

Well, if my Dad was still with us, he?d tell us . . . .?near-forever?!

He never wanted to visit his sister, ?cause she would serve up SPAM at mealtime . . . .consistently!!

Can?t say I?d blame him!

barretcreek
03-10-2022, 02:53
It'll be safe long after it is no longer palatable. Knocked down some sardines ten years out of date. Cans weren't swollen, didn't smell bad and the dog tore into his. Just weren't tasty.

dogtag
03-10-2022, 04:22
I think it was in the sixties some hardy souls opened and ate some canned food from WW1 - it was still edible.